School Board members are elected by their local communities in an election held the second Tuesday of each April. They serve three-year terms, with part of the board elected each year to maintain continuity and experience.

School board members are guardians of the public trust and, through the policies they make, are ultimately responsible for the success or failure of local public education. The board serves as the advocate for educational excellence for the community's youth and puts those interests first. The policies school boards make dictate the standards and philosophy by which schools are run and the criteria used to judge whether they are being run well.

This responsibility often entails difficult choices, self-sacrifice and exposure to public criticism. However, it also brings a great deal of personal satisfaction in sharing with parents, staff and students their academic successes. This crucial responsibility and the closeness of board members to the voters make the local board of education the purest example of democracy our society presents.

School board members in Missouri receive no pay. Their reward is the satisfaction they receive from public service. More than 3,700 Missourians serve on local school boards.

Lisa Welker, President
Elected to the board April 2015

She was a 6th grade teacher at Hillsboro for 30 years before retiring in 2014. Ken and Lisa have two children who have graduated from Hillsboro, like their mother did. Lisa has lived in the Hillsboro community her entire life. Contact Mrs. Welker

Beth Petry, Vice-President
Elected to the Board April 2014

She is a retired Family & Consumer Science teacher with 29 years experience in the public school system. She and her husband, Joe, have two children who attended Hillsboro Schools from Kindergarten through graduation. She has been blessed with two beautiful grandchildren. Contact Mrs. Petry

Renee Sucharski, Treasurer
Elected to the Board  April 2016
Contact Mrs. Sucharski

Angie Oshia, Director
Elected to the Board April 2016

She is an account manager for Scholastic Book Fairs and a programmer/on-air personality for KJFF AM 1400. She and her husband, Tom, have four children in the Hillsboro R-3 District. Contact Mrs. Oshia

Rob Kruse, Director
Appointed to the Board October 2015

Rob and his wife, Stacy, are local business owners and have lived in Hillsboro for nineteen years. They have three children that attend Hillsboro R-3 Schools. Contact Mr. Kruse

Jane Heine, Director
Elected to the Board April 2017

Jane Heine is a Nurse Practitioner and currently works as an Instructor for Goldfarb School of Nursing at Barnes Jewish. Jane and her husband Steve have 6 children ranging in age from 8-19 years, all of whom are currently attending Hillsboro schools with one recent graduate. Contact Mrs. Heine

Jon Schuessler, Director
Elected to the Board April 2018

Beth Ann Johnston,
Secretary to the Board of Education

Beth Ann was first elected by the Board to serve as secretary in 1997. She has two children who attended and graduated from Hillsboro Schools. Mrs. Johnston recently retired, she was the secretary to the Superintendent for Hillsboro R-3 for 24 years. 
Contact Mrs. Johnston